When you delete items from a Portal they are not automatically purged. To save/purge your deletions:

  1. Navigator > page group > Pages > find the page > click Edit link
  2. from Editing Views: Graphical |  Layout |  List
  3. Select the pages to delete or have been already from another Editing View
  4. Click on Purge Deleted Items (only for page admins)